I’m really,really behind on my goodreads challenge. I’ve read a handful  books this year, not counting books I’ve re-read, comics and fanfic, which is most of what I’ve read.

I thought I’d do a quick review of what I have been reading, as to motivate myself and perhaps others.

1.The 100 (The Hundred series)

descarga (1)

This is a book I thought I’d like but was mistaken.

if I’d only read the book and not seen the tv series I would’ve thought it was a bit shallow but entertaining enough, but since I have seen the tv series, the book pales in comparison.

it was light enough that it only took me a few hours to get through it

it is about 300 pages long, featuring a variety of pov from Clarke,Bellamy,Wells, and Glass who didn’t make it to the tv series, and the whole story covers a few days, there’s no exact numbering but I do know book number 2 is called Day 21.

on the plus side it does expand the world of the 100 a bit more, you find out about life on the ark, about their culture, issues, wya of life, so that’s interesting.

but that expanded world view comes from the pov of characters I either didn’t care for, like glass and luke, or downright despised, like wells.

I’d read some comments about wells, book readers who were mad the show had killed him off and how it’d be much better if they had let him live and even accusations of racism, how he was replaced by white boy finn.

I can’t speak to what were the producers thinking, but I can say that I am pleased wells was killed off cause he was the actual worst. he was selfish and entitled and his obsession with clarke killed who knows how many people, because he thinks those people were dead anyway, because those people were from a lower class so it’s not like their lives were worth anything anyway. he proves to be untrustworthy, he thinks he is better than everyone else, more prepared since he’s more educated, and he keeps fucking up. does he have good intentions? sure, but it doesn’t really matter in the end.

a lot of people in the 100 have good intentions and they fuck up and then they try to fix it, while wells continues to fuck shit up.

His dad actually comes off as more sympathetic and I didn’t like him in the show.

Finn was just as awful,really, and I get the feeling he was created to be awful,maybe they wanted to give the audience someone else to hate? I literally don’t understand how anyone likes Finn, and had they kept Wells, everyone would’ve hated him instead.  they were basically the same character, a boy clarke loved who felt way too possesive of her, as if he’d been granted some quest from a higher power to protect her whether she wanted it or not and who ended up killing a lot of people because of it.

so it’s good they’re dead. the rest of the characters have enough problems.

Clarke and Bellamy are both interesting and engaging and I did like their bits.

but all in all, I found the book to be disappointing.

which, strangely,has happened when I’ve tried to read YA-turned-TV before.

pretty little liars,gossip girl, the secret circle, they were entertaining tv but reading the source materials is either boring or maddening, making me want to kill every single idiotic character. often both.

with the 100, I doubt i’ll be reading the sequel, since most of my favourite characters are not even on it and I think I’m much better off reading fanfic

or just watching the show

I really like the show,okay? which is kinda funny since when I first saw the pilot I thought it seemed boring,predictable,clichéd. it wasn’t til I saw gifs of clarke and raven I started paying attention, and it took 6 or 7 eps before I started caring about these characters, but now I really do.

2 Boots and Backpacks by KC Kahler
boot

a modern pride and prejudice au

I’m actually linking to amazon cause I liked it that much, and also cause I lost the link to where the fic’s archived. it was some austenite forum but apparently i didn’t save it and can’t remember the name.

This book was cute,funny,sweet,sexy, a good time was had by all. I suppose it’s not great literature, and I wouldn’t have given it any attention if it hadn’t been a P&P fic, but it is so I did. and it was a good choice, of that there is no doubt,

it mixes  P&P with the movie the bachelor, I think, where in a millionaire (Darcy) has to marry before he turns 30 or he loses the money and lives a life of excess while being accosted by paparazzi.

it has Lizzie being herself, and in this universe she’s really into camping,hiking and nature in general and

there’s Lizzie living her life, Darcy being a dick, Caroline and Aunt Cathy being mean and manipulative, Jane being too nice,Bingley being an idiot and so on. all the players are there, just in a different universe.

The main plot is Darcy needing to get away while Lizzie plans a hike through the Appalachian Trail and destiny throwing them together to change their plans and their lives.

it is totally rom-com-y of course, but it is Lizzie and Darcy + romcom tropes, so it’s okay.

good for classic p&p readers and LBD watchers. I did imagine LBD’s Lizzie and Darcy through this.

3. Cocaine Blues: Phryne Fisher #1 (Phryne Fisher Mysteries)

51vTVue+7QL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

Miss Phryne Fisher investigates by Kerry Greenwood.

this, also known as cocaine blues, is #1 in the Miss Phryne Fisher’s Mysteries,another book I started to read cause I enjoyed the tv series but I wasn’t actually disappointed by this one.

It is certainly different,but just that,at least so far,I’ve only read the first book while I’ve seen all of the show.

I really enjoyed this book. though I did have to look up a lot of slang words and basically just skips the description of clothes cause it was too much effort. in this respect,the tv show is superior cause you don’t actually need to know fashion to appreciate the outfits while in the books they are described and I don’t even know the language used, so I was at a disadvantage. as a tip, I recommend an updated edition with pictures.

It’s a good mystery, it’s exciting, it certainly makes you keep reading. and it does a good job of portraying the era it is set in. at least I think so, I felt as if I was there. no idea if it’s accurate or not. I don’t know that much about Australian comtemporary culture, let alone of the 1920’s.

This is a book that makes you care and I like that. I will definitely continue reading this series.

4 Silver Wings by HP Munro

41PrGUBAzHL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_I

I honestly find this cover to be super boring, it looks like cheap erotica? It should’ve been something more exciting,interesting,eye-catching. how about a vintage-looking pictures of two gal pals in jumpsuits next to plane? maybe a rainbow behind them? or too on the nose?

boring cover aside, this is really good.

It’s about female pilots during World War II and how two of them fall in love.

There’s a lot of  “we can do it!” attitude, defiant flying, hot ace pilots in motorcycles, vintage querness and feminism, it is amazing. I felt like it was written for me.

I’ve no idea how I came across it,honestly, but AE had a feature on this and others I’ve got so I’m thanking them.

It reminded me of course of In Pursuit of Flight with carol stuck in 1943 with a bunch of men who didnt believe women could or even should fly.

it’s really entertaining, it’s really well researched, great characters, and even has a happy ending!

5. A Hat Full of Sky: The Continuing Adventures of Tiffany Aching and the Wee Free Men

A_Hat_Full_of_Sky_Cover

My favourite discworld books are definitely the ones about witches.

I always like how they’re basically about believing in yourself and helping others along the way, they’re good that way.

Granny weatherwax is always fun and Tiffany is pretty awesome too.

in this adventure, Tiffany goes to apprentice with another witch, meets other witches in training with different ideas about witching, faces a dark creatures that takes over people and consumes their lives and learns a few lessons in the process.

this is marketed as YA but i’m not sure there’s any difference with the regular discworld books. except the existence of chapters.

